This article discusses What is The Real Cost of California DUI? Click on the links below to go directly to your topic of interest.
- Insurance rate cost increase
- Towing and Storage Fee
- DUI school program cost
- DUI Defense Lawyer Cost
- DMV reinstatement fee
- The Real Cost of California DUI
It’s common knowledge that driving while intoxicated is not only a serious criminal offense, but also one of the main reasons of the road traffic incidents in the US and across the globe. Alcohol and drugs affect driving because they lead to fatigue, impaired vision and reduced reaction time. A driver must give his/her full attention to the road at all times. Getting behind a wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs not only can affects your life but also your money. Most people know that facing California DUI is really expensive, but not everyone is fully aware of its real cost. This article will help you to gain a better understanding of the expenses you can face when prosecuted for a DUI in California.
Car insurance increase should top the list of the DUI expenses in California, as it will be the highest expense.
In order to regain your driving license after it has been suspended as a result of a drunk driving conviction in California, you have to obtain from your car insurer a certificate of financial liability, also referred to as an SR-22 form. An SR-22 proves to the California DMV that you meet the minimum insurance requirements and one of the requirements is to get your driver’s license after a DUI. Your auto insurance agent will help you to get SR-22 but, in the majority of cases, it will significantly increase insurance premiums. After a DUI you will be required to submit proof of insurance for three years with the DMV. A DUI stays on your record for 10 years in California and even when you are no longer obligated to submit an SR-22, your insurance rate will remain much higher then before the DUI. Best advise is to shop around for a cheaper policy, however, because law permits such significant increases, you will be forced to pay much higher insurance rates. Typically, the cost of insurance increase over the ten years after the DUI can be $40,000 or more.
When you have been pulled over by police while driving under the influence of alcohol, or drugs, your vehicle will be towed and you will have to pay for it to get it out of the impound. The cost of towing and storage can run into hundred of dollars and the police have the authority to put a thirty day hold on the vehicle resulting in thousand of dollars in impound fees.
If you get a DUI in California, you must enroll in CA DUI school program. DUI classes are intended to lessen the number of DUI violations repeat by a person who completes the program as well as encourage the participants to analyze the problems related to the consumption of alcohol or drugs. The duration time of your DUI course will be determined by the gravity of your DUI violation and by your BAC. It appears that the first-time DUI conviction will oblige you to complete from three-month to nine-month program. You can expect to pay at least $650 and up to $900 for 9 month program.
If you are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence, your case can be filed with the Superior Court by the police or the prosecutor.
It would be a good idea to retain an attorney that specializes in the DUI defense in California. Only a DUI lawyer, who knows the court system and DUI laws from A to Z, will be able to represent you in the best way. The cost of attorney can vary depending on objective and subjective factors including attorney’s experience, reputation, and rates and prices. The price of an attorney can range from under a thousand for a high volume firm to over ten thousand dollars for boutique firms with dedicated focused defense. Our firm is known for providing quality representation at affordable price where we will offer payment plans and discounts to qualified individuals.
If you are found to be guilty of the 1st DUI offense, you will have to pay mandatory fines in the amount of $390 or $1,000 plus penalties and assessment, which significantly increase the total fine due so that a fine of $390 will result in a total cost of nearly $2,000.00. The fines can be converted to jail time or community service.
A DUI conviction will cause a suspension or revocation of driver’s license. Once the duration of your license suspension is over and you meet all the requirements to be get your driver’s license reinstated, you will have to pay around $125 to the DMV as a license reinstatement fee.
A DUI can easily cost thousand of dollars. This cost can also be higher if there are medical care expenses, transportation expenses, and other costs, such as damage to your reputation and current and prospective jobs. The minimal costs are even higher if there are aggravating factors, such as refusal, high blood alcohol level, accidents or multiple DUI‘s.
If you were arrested under suspicion of a DUI, call Los Angeles DUI attorney ASAP for a free consultation regarding your case. It is always better to rely on the experience and knowledge of a skilled professional. An experienced lawyer will defend you in court and at the DMV with a goal of dismissing a DUI or to beat your DUI or get the best result for you in your case.
(818) 921 7744 Call Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer now to receive your Free professional DUI case evaluation