The LA Rams cornerback Troy Hill is in trouble with the law once again. This time he was detained for drunk driving. First time the Mr. Hill was arrested on Dec 2013. He was accused of domestic abuse during his student years in Oregon.
This time the 25-year-old NFL player was taken into custody early Sat morning, Nov 19, after his Mercedes rammed into the back of a semi-truck. The CHP reported that at 7: 43 a.m. they received a call that there was a car accident on 101 Highway in Encino, Los Angeles. The CHP arrived to the accident site shortly and contacted the persons involved in the accident, one who whom was Troy Hill, the LA Rams player. The NFL player was on the way to his practice, driving about 60 mph. For some reason his vehicle made an abrupt turn to the right, passed a multiple lane and ran into a truck. Nobody was injured in the accident.
The CHP officers detected that Hill was in a state of intoxication. They pursued a DUI investigation and performed a set of field sobriety tests. The investigation showed that Hill was drunk. The officers placed him under arrest at the accident site and took him to the Van Nuys jail. The NFL cornerback was booked for drunk driving and released on the same day with a bail of $15,000. His court date is set for December 14, 2016.
Because of his DUI arrest Hill missed the Rams game against the Miami Dolphins. In accordance with the NFL’s DUI policy, a first DUI offender would get a one game suspension and a fine of one game check.
If in fact in Hill did not cause bodily injuries a result of this DUI crash, then his case must be filed as a misdemeanor.
The penalty for a first DUI offense is specified in California Vehicle Code Sections 23520, CVC 23536 and CVC 23538. The violator may face an incarceration from 2 days to 6 months. Fines can be from $390, but no more than $1,000. A person convicted of a DUI will also be obliged to complete a 3 months long alcohol educational program. Lastly, he has to be placed on probation for 3 to 5 years. A DUI conviction will remain on the offender’s record for 10 years. For more detailed information, you may check our First Offense DUI California page.
The consequences of DUI are fairly serious, even if it happened for the first time. In case you are arrested or charged with a DUI in California, contact an experienced Los Angeles DUI attorney right away. A competent DUI attorney in your area will help you to comprehend how the law applies to your case and suggest to you what to do next.
Call us at (818) 921 7744. We provide a free DUI case review to discuss your options.
YOU ALSO MAYBE INTERESTED:
- First Offense DUI California
- POINTS ON DRIVING RECORD AFTER DUI CONVICTION
- Punishment for Drunk Driving In Los Angeles