Driving without Valid License
A person who is Driving without Valid License in California can be guilty of a misdemeanor violation of California Vehicle Code section 12500. Driving without a valid driver’s license in driver’s possession is not a misdemeanor but an infraction under California Vehicle code section 12951.
Punishment for violation of California Vehicle code section 12500 in Los Angeles, when charged as a misdemeanor, can include summary probation, jail time, a fine, and even arrest of your vehicle for up to 30 days.
California law authorizes exemptions from for specific persons who are driving without a valid California driver’s license. For example, an employee or an officer of the United States is permitted to operate a vehicle owned by the United States on California’s roadways without a driver’s license as permitted by California Vehicle Code section 12501. Other exemptions are found in California Vehicle Code sections 12502, 12503 and 12504.
For instance, for a non-resident of California Driving without Valid License is allowed as long as he or she has an out of state driver’s license. Any resident of California have to get a California driver’s license within 10 days of establishing residency. Residency can be proven using one of numerous methods, for example, an address where one is registered to vote or by showing something that would indicate that presence in California is more then temporary or transient.
If a person establishes residency in California, under California Vehicle code section 12505(c), he or she is required to apply for a California driver’s license within ten days. This exemption does not apply if the person operates a motor vehicle for employment.
EXAMPLE: You are offered a job in California with a requirement that you drive for your employer. You are not allowed to drive for your job without first applying for a California driver’s license.
Attorneys in our office have defended numerous criminal cases for Driving without Valid License. An expired driver’s license is considered not valid and a person who drives with an expired driver’s license can be prosecuted under California Vehicle Code section 12500.
EXAMPLE: You are pulled over for a minor traffic violation and you produce a California driver’s license to the police officer upon request. Your license expired few days ago because you neglected to renew it after having it for ten years. You can be prosecuted under California Vehicle Code section 12500.
If you or your loved one is cited for Driving without Valid License in Los Angeles, call our office now. You will be able to talk to an attorney directly about your case. We provide quality representation at affordable prices. We offer reduced fees, competitive payment plans, and accept most major credit cards.