DUI Fines in Los Angeles

Vehicle Code 40508A – Failure to Appear For Traffic Ticket

March 23, 2016

 VC40508A . A person willfully violating his or her written promise to appear or a lawfully granted continuance of his or her promise to appear in court or before a person authorized to receive a deposit of bail is guilty of a misdemeanor regardless of the disposition of the charge upon which he or she was originally arrested.   If you were stopped for a traffic violation and cited by the police officer, you will have a date in court.  If you do not come to court, the court will file a separate charge against you in addition to the charges observed by the officer at the time of the stop.  The additional charge is a violation of California Vehicle Code section 40508A, commonly […]

Read more »

DUI Charges Under California Law

March 10, 2016

DUI Charges can have extreme consequences for many many people including professional drivers, anyone with a specialized license or permit or even immigrant.  The punishment for a DUI can include DUI classes, IID, fines and even jail time.  DUI charges under California law can be found in Division 11 and Division 11.5 of the California Vehicle Code, one of 26 different legal codes in California. The specific DUI charges are usually found in the California Vehicle Code 23152 for “simple” DUI charges and CVC 23153 for DUI with injury charges. The crime of drunk driving can be a felony DUI or a misdemeanor DUI.  What determines if it is a felony DUI charges or misdemeanor DUI charges is the record of the defendant […]

Read more »

How the Court Calculates DUI Fines in Los Angeles

March 17, 2015

A typical DUI fine in Los Angeles is $390 plus Penalty Assessments. The penalty assessments however, is the majority of the fine. Simply, the government adds 12 different additional fees ranging from $1 for every $10 of fine to $100 for every misdemeanor conviction. Those additions usually increase fines for a DUI conviction in Los Angeles to approximately $1,790; a huge difference from the $390 base fine. The fine structure is not unique for Driving Under the Influence conviction. A conviction for running a red light, a $50 base fine, will be at least $225. Here is the breakdown of the fines by statutes. PC 1464 adds $10 for every $10 of a base fine for every criminal offense,state penalty. GC […]

Read more »

ATTENTION

THIS WEBSITE IS CREATED FOR ADVERTISEMENT PURPOSES AND DOES NOT ESTABLISH AN ATTORNEY CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. UNLESS THERE IS A CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN ATTORNEY AND CLIENT. DO NOT USE INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE FOR LEGAL ADVICE WITHOUT TALKING TO AN ATTORNEY ABOUT SPECIFICS OF YOUR CASE. EXAMPLES AND CONSULTATION WILL NOT GUARANTEE INDIVIDUAL RESULTS.
ALL CONTENT ON THIS SITE IS CREATED FOR ATTORNEY ALEX ANDRYUSCHENKO